Book Haul Post: August 2020

 

Off The TBR_ Book Haul Post

It’s time for another Book Haul post. One of my blogging goals for 2020 is to be to be more intentional about Book Haul posts. I’m aware that it’s possible nobody cares about the books I’ve bought or received, but I kinda like when bloggers post these because it not only puts new books in front of my eyeballs that I might not be aware of, but they also give me an idea of the blogger’s tastes. For my purposes a Book Haul post can include any book I’ve come to possess, not just those I buy, so arcs requested or just sent from publishers will be listed as well.

I was having trouble getting into the right headspace to write a review *checks notes* for like the last two weeks so I decided to shift gears and write-up a book haul post instead. Which is good because I’ve been a slacker and not done one since the beginning of August (for July)! Hopefully I’ll get caught up before another two months go by. Look for the September post soon(ish).

AUGUST HAULS

perf5.000x8.000.indd

In Shadows We Fall, by Devin Madson
Self-Published

“”You will die. Your children will die. The empire will burn.””

“Empress Li is out of favour at court. Foreign-born and past her prime, she is to be set aside. But she won’t go quietly. With nothing left to lose, Li will do anything to stop Emperor Lan signing a secret alliance that could tear the empire apart. Yet when her life is threatened, old mistakes come back to haunt her and only a three-year-old boy can change the course of history.

With everything at stake, could an innocent child be the best assassin?” – Goodreads blurb

In Shadows We Fall is Devin Madson’s prequel novella to her Vengeance Trilogy and Reborn Empire series. It also won the 2017 Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novella. I’ve had an e-book copy for a while but decided I needed a physical copy when I purchased the book below. I loved We Ride The Storm and am dying to know some of the prior story.


TheBloodOfWhisperers

The Blood of Whisperers, by Devin Madson
The Vengeance Trilogy #1
Orbit

An empire on the edge of war threatens to crumble in this action-packed fantasy novel of epic adventure and revenge.

They call him the Usurper.

Once the Kisian empire was ruled by gods. Now Kin Ts’ai, a man of common blood, sits on the Crimson Throne. At his command, the last Otako emperor was executed and a new era began. But claiming an empire is easier than holding it.

In the north where loyalty to the Otako name runs deep, a rebellion grows. And Emperor Kin will learn that killing one Otako, doesn’t mean you’ve killed them all.” – Goodreads blurb

I’ve actually had an e-book copy of this book for a long time too. But, after Devin Madson announced We Ride The Storm would be published by Orbit I asked her on Twitter whether I should read THAT book first or whether I should start with The Blood of Whisperers. She then asked if I’d hold off on reading the previous e-book as the Orbit deal included publishing not just The Reborn Empire series, but The Vengeance Trilogy as well and that it would come with further edits. So I waited, and in August the series went on sale. So yeah…I’ve got a bunch of Devin Madson books to read.


KingsofParadise

Kings of Paradise, by Richard Nell
Ash And Sand #1
Self-Published

“A deformed genius plots vengeance while struggling to survive. A wastrel prince comes of age, finding a power he never imagined. Two worlds are destined to collide.

Only one can be king.

Ruka, called a demon at birth, is a genius. Born malformed and ugly into the snow-covered wasteland of the Ascom, he was spared from death by his mother’s love. Now he is an outcast, consumed with hate for those who’ve wronged him. But to take his vengeance, he must first survive. Across a vast sea in the white-sand island paradise of Sri Kon, Kale is fourth and youngest son of the Sorcerer King. And at sixteen, Kale is a disappointment. As the first prince ever forced to serve with low-born marines, Kale must prove himself and become a man, or else lose all chance of a worthy future, and any hope to win the love of his life. Though they do not know it, both boys are on the cusp of discovery. Their worlds and lives are destined for greatness, or ruin.

But in a changing world where ash meets paradise, only one man can be king… The first installment of an epic, low- fantasy trilogy. Kings of Paradise is a dark, bloody, coming-of-age story shaped by culture, politics, and magic.” – Goodreads blurb

Richard Nell released Kings of Heaven, book three in this series back in September. Just prior to that he contacted me to see if I’d be interested in reading and reviewing Kings of Paradise since I had it on my want to read list on Goodreads. I was like “hell yeah!” and told him I’d love to. I’ve wanted to read it for years after seeing a number of other bloggers who also love self-published fantasy post reviews about it. So, long story short Richard mailed me a copy and it is sitting here on my book stand calling out to me. I hope to get to it very soon.


NophekGloss

Nophek Gloss, by Essa Hansen
The Graven #1
Orbit

“When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.

Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.” – Goodreads Blurb

I received an ARC of Nophek Gloss from the awesome folks at Orbit. I’d kinda hoped I’d get one of these the moment I saw they announced the book on Twitter. I’ve actually already read it and should have a review up the first weekend in November to participate in Sci-Fi Month. Nophek Gloss is set to release November 17.

Well, that’s if for my August book hauls. Have you read any of them? Any of them on your TBR? Any of them interest you? Let me know in the comments.

– Jason

2 thoughts on “Book Haul Post: August 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s