What I’m Reading: Legacy of Ash

Off The TBR_ What I'm Reading

I’m trying a few new things this year to add some variety to the blog. One of them is to let you know what I”m currently reading. I have no idea if you care, or if you’ll find it interesting but I’m gonna try it out for a while and see.

I also have to admit I’m writing this today because I’ve been sick for over a week (first a bad cold that turned into the crud) and I’m still not in the right headspace to write a review this weekend even though I really need to get a couple of them written.

My Current Read

LegacyofAsh

Legacy of Ashby Matthew Ward
Orbit Books
Pub Date: April 9, 2020

In this action-packed epic fantasy debut, three heroes scarred by old hatreds must find a way to overcome their pasts if they are to have any chance of saving their crumbling Republic from complete destruction. Perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Brent Weeks, and Brandon Sanderson.

A shadow has fallen over the Tressian Republic.

While the armies of the Hadari Empire invade the borderlands, the Republic’s noble families plot against each other, divided by personal ambition.

But as Tressia falls, heroes rise.

Viktor Akadra is the Republic’s champion and conqueror of the rebellious south. A warrior without equal, he also hides a secret that would see him burned as a heretic.
Josiri Trelan would gladly see Viktor condemned to the flames – vengeance for a rebellion crushed and a mother slain. And while Josiri plots fresh insurrection, his sister, Calenne, is determined to escape their tarnished legacy and break the shackles of the past.

As dark days beckon, these three must overcome their differences to save the Republic. Yet decades of bad blood are not easily set aside. Victory – if it comes at all – will command a higher price than they could have imagined.” – Goodreads blurb

I’ve been reading this one for over a week. It’s over 700 pages and did I mention I’ve been sick? So it’s taking some time. But oh my word this one truly is epic! There is SO MUCH going on, a huge cast of inventive characters, multiple points of view, in-depth world building, and layers of plot narrative.

As I’ve been reading Legacy of Ash my rating for it in my mind just keeps increasing. At first I was like “OK I’m enjoying this, it’s good” and now I’m like “WOW, this is so fucking good!” As the story progresses and all the pieces start to fall into place, and the little narrative clues I didn’t see at first start to coalesce my enjoyment of this read deepens. The first few books I’ve read this year were either disappointments or meh to OK. Then I had one read that I really enjoyed that will be a four star. Legacy of Ash is shaping up to maybe be my first 4.5 or 5 star read of the year. I should finish later today…as long as the ending doesn’t just completely suck you can expect to see a glowing review in the future.

Upcoming Posts

As I mentioned earlier I’m behind on my reviews. Here are two that are coming…

  • Sixteenth Watch, by Myke Cole
  • The First of Shadows, by Deck Matthews

Besides those two book reviews I hope to get another book haul post for the month of January up on the blog in the next week. I ended up hauling a bunch of books last month and can’t wait to dive into them.

I’m also hoping to post about a few of my goals for the year. I’m trying not to commit to a lot but It’s helpful for me to put them into words. The first will probably be about reading more novellas.

So what are you reading? Have you read Legacy of Ash? If so what did you think? What about Sixteenth Watch or First of Shadows? 

– Jason

7 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Legacy of Ash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s